Motown founder Berry Gordy, actress Angela Bassett and actor Michael B. Jordan were among the honorees this week during a presentation by the Critics Choice Association’s fifth annual Celebration of Black Cinema & Television.

The event at the Fairmont Century Plaza on Monday honored “standout achievements in Black filmmaking and television,” according to the association.

“The Celebration of Black Cinema & Television has grown tremendously over the last five years,” CCA CEO Joey Berlin said in a statement. “We’re thrilled to be able to recognize such outstanding projects across both film and television, and to honor these incredible actors and filmmakers for their work.”

Gordy received the Icon award for his “unparalleled contribution to music, film and popular culture,” while Bassett will receive a Career Achievement Award. Jordan will receive the Melvin Van Peebles Trailblazer Award for contributions to the industry.

Musician/actor Scott “`Kid Cudi” Mescudi received a Groundbreaker Award, recognizing his role as Jabari in Netflix’s “Entergalactic,” which he also created.

Also honored were: 

—Nicco Annan will receive the Actor Award 

    for Television for his work on STARZ series 


—Writer/director Elegance Bratton will 

     receive the Social Justice Award for his work 

     on the film “The Inspection”;

—Writer/producer/actress Quinta Brunson 

    will receive the Actress Award for Television 

    for  her work on “Abbott Elementary”;

—Danielle Deadwyler will receive the Actress 

    Award for Film for her work on the film 


—Ayo Edebiri will receive the Rising Star 

    Award for the FX series “The Bear”;

—Brian Tyree Henry will receive the 

    Supporting Actor Award for his work on 


—Actor Quincy Isaiah will receive the Rising 

    Star Award for his work on the series 

   “Winning Time: The Rise of the Lakers 


—Jonathan Majors will receive the Actor 

    Award for Film for his work in the film 


—Gina Prince-Bythewood will receive the 

    Director Award for Film “The Woman King”;

—Writer/director Nikyatu Jusu will receive the 

    Breakthrough Film Award for “Nanny”; and

—The cast of ABC’s sitcom, “The Wonder 

    Years,” Elisha “EJ”

Williams, Dulé Hill, Saycon Sengbloh, Laura Kariuki, Julian Lerner, Amari O’Neil and Milan Ray, will receive the Ensemble Award.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *