The Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk (RR/CC) has begun mailing 350,916 Vote by Mail (VBM) ballots for the May 12 Congressional District 25 Special General Election.

In response to the coronavirus pandemic, Gov. Gavin Newsom signed an executive order providing for all-mail voting in the May 12 special election.

Christy Smith (D) and Mike Garcia (R) are running in the special general election for California’s 25th Congressional District. Smith advanced from a field of 12 candidates in the March 3 top-two primary with 35.8 percent of the vote while Garcia advanced with 25.1 percent.

The special election will fill the vacancy left by Katie Hill (D), who resigned her seat on November 1, 2019, amid allegations of extramarital relationships with staffers.

Voters must return their ballot on or postmarked by Election Day, May 12. No return postage is required.

This election will have 22 VBM Drop Box locations open 24-hours throughout the District.