House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (CA-23) on Monday will present East Kern Antelope Valley students with the 23rd Congressional District of California Merit Award. The ceremony will take place at from 4-5 p.m. at the Antelope Valley Union High School District office boardroom, 44811 N Sierra Hwy., in Lancaster.

McCarthy hosts the annual event to recognize students and teachers from the 23rd Congressional District who display excellence in the classroom. Each student receiving accolades was asked to nominate an educator for the 23rd Congressional District of California Inspirational High School Educator Award, which is also presented at the ceremony.

“Each year I am awed by the bright young minds in our community. This award honors students who have gone above and beyond in the classroom, and the teachers and educators who have provided the groundwork for them to excel academically,” McCarthy said. “I am truly honored to present these incredible students, and their instructors with the 2019 Merit and Inspirational High School Educator awards. Congratulations on this exceptional achievement.”

The 2019 Merit Award recipients are:

— Enrique Arjona – Lancaster High School

— Robert Christopher Gonzales – Desert Christian High School

— Ellette Dunn – Quartz Hill High School

— Samantha Corzo – Rosamond High School

— Bryan Montero – Mojave Junior – Senior High School

— Eric Vuong – Desert Junior-Senior High School

— Nicole Richardson – California City High School

— Enyssa Armendariz – Sherman E. Burroughs High School

— Jennifer Cano Aguilar – Boron Junior-Senior High School

The 2019 Inspirational High School Educator Award recipients are:

— Elisa Frias – Lancaster High School

— Karmae Shiplet – Desert Christian High School

— Rong You – Rosamond High School

— Yvonne Moore – Mojave Junior-Senior High School

— Jason Spitzer – Desert Junior-Senior High School

— Daniel Williford – California City High School

— Susie Burgess – Sherman E. Burroughs High School

— Lu Royce – Boron Junior-Senior High School