Jay Z’s “Blueprint” and several other Black artists’ songs have been named to the National Registry. Other Black-oriented songs receiving the honor include “Minnie the Moocher” by Cab Calloway; “Mississippi Goddam” from Nina Simone; “Soul Man” by Sam & Dave; “Superfly” from Curtis Mayfield; and “September” by Earth, Wind & Fire.

Every year the Library of Congress’ National Preservation Board selects 25 titles to be added to the prestigious list for their cultural and aesthetic significance. This year’s entries also included the speech delivered by Robert Kennedy Jr. on the death of Martin Luther King Jr. “The National Recording Registry honors the music that enriches our souls, the voices that tell our stories and the sounds that mirror our lives” said Carla Hayden of the Library of Congress. “The influence of recorded sound over its nearly 160-year history has been profound and technology has increased its reach and significance exponentially. The Library of Congress and its many collaborators are working to preserve these sounds and moments in time, which reflect our past, present and future.”