The nine-member California Legislative Black Caucus (CLBC) has selected 30 high school and college students to receive scholarships of $2,500 each and a lap top from Hewlett Packard as part of its 2014 CLBC California Scholars program.

CLBC Chair, Sen. Holly J. Mitchell said, “The CLBC California Scholars program is part of our commitment to achieving one of our collective legislative priorities, which is increasing access to higher education for African American students. By providing deserving students with financial aid, it will help overcome some of the monetary hurdles that may block their pathway to graduation and successful careers.”

“The CLBC California Scholars 2014 program received 137 amazing applicants whose incredible stories of perseverance and determination have restored my faith in the future of our great state. Even though we could only provide 30 scholarships, the quality of the applications have shown that California has strong future leaders in our pipeline, whose success we must nourish,” said Mitchell.

Underwriting for the scholars came from fundraising by caucus members, and applicants needed to be high school graduates with letters of acceptance from an academic program at a university, community college students transferring to a four-year school and college freshmen. They also submitted several essays, including one that detailed how the scholarship would assist them. The recipients did not need to be low-income, but had to be able to demonstrate a need.

Each CLBC member selected two deserving college-bound high school students or college attendees from applicants representing their legislative districts. Twelve additional students were selected from this year’s statewide list of CLBC California Scholars program applicants.

Applications for the 2015 scholars program will be available in March, and the deadline to submit them is May 30.

The 2014 winners were:

Deja Edmon (Los Angeles), graduate of St. Mary’s Academy. Admitted: Xavier University;

Paris Paterson-Garner (Los Angeles), graduate of Culver City High School. Admitted: University of La Verne;

Christerbell Ahaiwe (Los Angeles), graduate of Crenshaw High School. Admitted: UCLA;

Kahlil Young (Los Angeles), graduate of Santa Monica Catholic High School. Admitted: University of Arizona;

Kimberly Rochard (Inglewood), graduate of Los Angeles Center for Enriched Studies. Admitted: Loyola Marymount University (LMU);

Martin Brown-Gaines (Los Angeles), graduate of Inglewood High School. Admitted: Morehouse University;

Aaliyah Ricks (San Bernardino), graduate of Arroyo Valley High School. Admitted: UCLA;

Malik Boyd (Rialto), graduate of Wilmer Amina Carter High. Admitted: Northern Arizona University;

Matthew Elam (Corona), graduate of Santiago High School. Admitted: DePaul University;

Ryan Higgins (Los Angeles), attending: California State University Dominquez Hills;

Chelsea Larsuel (Altadena), graduate of Mayfield Senior School. Admitted: American University;

Daylon Davis (Pasadena), graduate of John Muir High School. Admitted: San Jose State University;

Tiffany Parker (Lancaster), graduate of Quartz Hill High School. Admitted: Clark Atlanta University;

Jordyn Holman (Los Angeles), attending: USC;

Jaliya Cash (Los Angeles), graduate of Crenshaw Arts/Tech Charter School. Admitted: California State University Monterey Bay;

Donovan Kimsey-Wade (Los Angeles), graduate of Hamilton High School. Admitted: UCLA;

Amanda Chandler (La Mesa), graduate of Grossmont High School. Admitted: Temple University;

Lane Griffith (La Mesa), graduate of Grossmont High School. Admitted: University of Alabama.

Darnell Cooley Scholar 2014

Arielle Brumfield (Los Angeles), graduate of Westchester Enriched Science Magnate. Admitted: Loyola Marymount University (LMU).

Statewide recipients

Greater Sacramento area

Damian Chambers, attending: Berklee College of Music;

Angelique Hill, graduate of Sacramento Charter High School. Admitted: Hampton University;

Zaria Watkins, graduate of Christian Brothers High School. Admitted: New York University (NYU).

Northern Calif.

Zaire Bailey (Rohnert Park), graduate of Rancho Cotate High School. Admitted: Spelman College;

Samori Roberts (Antioch), graduate of Antioch High School EDGE Program. Admitted: Morehouse University;

Central Valley

Khyri Brown (Fresno), graduate of Edison High School. Admitted: Lincoln University;

Matthew Culberson (Stockton), attending: University of California Davis.

Southern Calif.

Jasmin Dodd (Palmdale), graduate of Bishop Academy. Admitted: University of California Riverside;

Ayanna Joshua (Palmdale), graduate of Quartz Hill High School. Admitted: California State University Northridge;

D’Angelo Ross (La Puente), graduate of South Hills High School. Admitted: California State University Fresno;

Zakkiyya West (Pomona), graduate of Pomona Senior High School. Admitted: San Diego State University.