The Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA) Business Center in Los Angeles will host its 19th annual awards reception from 6:30-8:30 p.m. this evening at the City Club.

The theme is “Leverage Technology to Connect with Opportunity” and three business owners are being recognized for their accomplishments by business and city leaders including Mayor Eric Garcetti and the national director of the MBDA, Alejandra Y. Castillo.

The winning entrepreneurs are Eduardo Don, CEO of Lumen21 Inc., recognized as technology firm of the year; Donna Ross-Jones, CEO of Transitions Music and Media Corporation, named media firm of the year; and Sharon Brown, CEO of ICDC Publishing Inc., as services firm of the year.

The three winners will go on to compete against firms from around the nation during the National Minority Enterprise Development Week in July.

The Los Angeles event celebrates the 325,000 small businesses in the city and the reception brings together small firms, business leaders, purchasing agents, lenders, as well as representatives from many of the city’s public and private corporate entities.

Admission is $50, and people are welcome to pay online or on site today. For information, call (213) 821-2541.

The City Club is located at 555 S. Flower St., Los Angeles.

This Los Angeles celebration comes just ahead of the 2014 National Minority Enterprise Development (MED) Week conference hosted by the national MBDA July 31-Aug. 1 at the Washington Hilton, in Washington, D.C. The theme is “Connecting Business with Opportunity,” and registration is available at checkin.aspx?EventId=1314002&MethodId=0&EventSessionId=&startnewreg=1. The cost to attend is $295 until June 30.

MED Week offers minority-owned firms an opportunity to access information, tools and resources to grow their businesses domestically and internationally.

The event will feature business-to-business matchmaking sessions, networking with multinational corporations and government representatives as well as informative seminars. The MED Week luncheon will honor the leading minority-owned firms, entrepreneurs and advocates from across the country.