Assemblywoman Holly Mitchell, top left; head of the LA84 Foundation Anita DeFrantz, top, education administrator Dolores Sheen (not pictured) and Gloria Mendez , left, are among the women honored at the 24th annual Pioneer Women of the Year Award held last Friday at L.A. City Hall and hosted by the Commission on the Status of Women. Each council member had an opportunity to nominate an honoree to add to those selected by the commission. Mitchell was chosen by the commission, Sheen was selected by councilman Bernard C. Parks, and Mendez was chosen by Councilwoman Jan Perry.