Sixteen contenders, including two incumbents have thrown their hats into the ring in the City of Los Angeles Council districts eight and ten political contests while six people are seeking a seat on the Los Angeles Board of Education including two incumbents.

The candidates submitted their declaration of intention forms by Nov. 9 to the Los Angeles City Clerks office, and now have until Dec. 8 to submit their official nomination papers.

Seven individuals including incumbent Bernard C. Parks have pulled papers to run for the Eighth District seat. Parks, formerly the Los Angeles Police Chief, is just finishing up his second term in office.
L.A. City Council members are limited to three four-year terms.

Parks is facing a field of competitors that includes well-known and well-connected individuals such as Forescee Hogan-Rowles.

Rowles is CEO of the Community Financial Resource Center, which operates a number of economic and business development programs.

Community activists Jabari S. Jumaane and Greg Akili have also decided to jump into the fray.
Jumaane is a Los Angeles City firefighter, who also runs the community center which hosts the Harambee Farmer’s Markets.

Akili is a community organizer who has worked with politicians such as Antonio Villaraigosa and Herb Wesson.

Others vying for the job include Mervin Evans, an author/businesman/consultant who has campaigned for this office in the past, and business support analyst Daniel Klinton Barnette.
Eight people as well as incumbent Councilman Herb Wesson are vying for the District 10 council seat. Most of Wesson’s potential challengers are political unknowns.

Two people are challenging incumbent Marguerite P. LaMotte in the race for the Los Angeles Board of Education District 1 slot, and one of those individuals is well-known civic and community leader Rev. Eric Lee.

The head of the Los Angeles chapter of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference has been deeply involved in seeking educational equity for Black students in the LAUSD.

Educator Lynette A. Bigelow is the other person who has filed an intent to run in this race, and if all three candidates end up running, this race is sure to be an intense one.

Three individuals are seeking the District 7 Board of Education seat including incumbent Richard A. Vladovic. He will face some challengers for a second time including public schools advocate Jesus M. Scandon and parent education activist Roye Love.

A number of other government entities have also opened nominations periods or will soon do so. Three seats on the Los Angeles Community College District Board of Trustees are up for re-election. Candidates run at large, and are voted on by everyone in the district.

Eight individuals have declared an intent to run for seat number one including Mona Field who is currently the incumbent for seat three, which is also open.

Community activist and Los Angeles City Workforce board member Derrick Mims is also seeking this slot.

Seven people are seeking to claim seat number three on the LACCD Board of Trustees, while nine people are vying for seat number five. In the race for seat number seven five people, including incumbent Miguel Santiago have declared an intention to run.|

Carson began accepting nomination applications Nov. 15, and will close the process Dec. 13 unless the incumbent in an offices does not file. Then the deadline is pushed to Dec. 15.

Two council seats, the city clerk and the treasurer’s positions are up for grabs.

Gardena also opened its process Monday as well and will close Dec. 10 unless an incumbent does not file. Then the deadline is extended until Dec. 15.

Voters will choose two council members.

Inglewood, which is also in the midst of a mayoral run-off, will open its nomination period for city council and board of education seats Dec. 13. The deadline to return applications is Jan., 7. If an incumbent does not file, the closing date will extend to Jan. 10. The offices on the ballot are: Council districts three and four, and school board seats four and five.

Compton’s nomination period runs from Dec. 27 to Jan. 24 and Districts 1 and 4 will be on the ballot.