The deadline for students to submit applications to seven Cal State University campuses is Saturday at midnight.
This earlier deadline is the result of the budget cuts the state is facing.
The seven schools are Cal State Los Angeles, Dominguez Hills, Bakersfield, Sacramento, East Bay, San Bernardino and Monterey Bay.
The shortened application period is part of a strategy to limit enrollment in the state university system to accommodate the expected budget cuts.