Rihanna and Congressman John Lewis honored by NAACP

NAACP Image Awards were held last weekend

OW Staff Writer | 2/27/2020, midnight

NAACP President Derrick Johnson presented the organization’s prestigious President’s Award during the 51st NAACP Image Awards to Rihanna on Feb. 22.

The President’s Award is presented in recognition of special achievement and distinguished public service, with previous recipients including last year’s recipient Shawn “JAY-Z” Carter, Jesse Jackson, Lauryn Hill, Soledad O’Brien, Colin Powell, Condoleezza Rice, and Muhammad Ali among others.

“Rihanna has not only enjoyed a groundbreaking career as an artist and musician but has also distinguished herself as a stellar public servant,” said Johnson. “From her business achievements through Fenty, to her tremendous record as an activist and philanthropist, Rihanna epitomizes the type of character, grace, and devotion to justice that we seek to highlight in our President’s Award.”

U.S. Congressman and civil rights leader John Lewis (D-GA), received the prestigious NAACP Chairman’s Award.. The Chairman’s Award is bestowed in recognition of individuals who demonstrate exemplary public service and use their distinct platforms to create agents of change.

Past honorees of the Chairman’s Award include Tyler Perry, then-Senator Barack Obama, Former Surgeon General Regina Benjamin, Ruby Dee, The Neville Brothers, Bono, Danny Glover, and last year’s recipient Congresswoman Maxine Waters.